Committee Opportunities

HAWL Committee Opportunities

2016-2017 Program Year

HAWL invites its members to join committees and prides itself in making participation easy and enjoyable! Committee participation is voluntary and each committee allows you to volunteer for specific events that fit within your time schedule. For additional information, or to sign-up for a committee(s), please contact the chairperson(s) listed below.

Awards Committee
Committee members may meet periodically and will be asked to help prepare applications and proposals for awards and grants for HAWL and its members.

Chairs: Katherine Earle Yanes (kyanes@kmf-law.com); Erin Jackson (ejackson@tsghlaw.com); and
Victoria Cruz Garcia (vgarcia@givenssparks.com).

Community Outreach Committee
Committee members assist in organizing and participating in HAWL’s community outreach programs or charitable events. Committee members meet periodically as a committee and volunteer for the events sponsored by the committee.

Chairs: Cynthia Mikos (cmikos@allendell.com) and Elizabeth Lanier (ELanier@gunnlawgroup.com).

Diversity Committee
Committee members will assist in organizing and participating in various projects related to gender, racial, and ethnic equality, that are coordinated with the Hillsborough County Bar Association and minority bar associations. Committee members may meet on occasion as a committee and will be asked to volunteer at one of the sponsored events.

Chairs: Vivian Cortes Hodz (vivian@corteshodzlaw.com) and Ashley Grant (Ashley.grant@myfloridalegal.com).

Government Committee
Committee members will help organize and participate in networking, professional development, and continuing education events for government attorneys. Committee members may meet periodically as a committee and volunteer for the events sponsored by the committee.

Chairs: Katelyn Wright (kbw9988@gmail.com) and Anne McDonough (anne.mcdonough@myfloridalegal.com).

Judicial Relations Committee
Committee members will meet periodically to organize events, including the annual judicial reception, for the purpose of appreciating and promoting collegial relations with members of the judiciary. Additionally, committee members will participate in honoring the accomplishments of current judges and recognizing newly appointed judges.

Chairs: Jessica Goodwin Costello (j.goodwin.costello@gmail.com); Jacqueline Simms-Petredis (jsimms-petredis@burr.com); and
Jane Rose (rosej@hillsboroughcounty.org).

Membership Committee
Committee members may help plan or volunteer at membership recruitment and appreciation events, welcome new members, and assist the Vice President of Membership and Membership Chair as needed.

Chairs: Renu Parker (Renu.parker@bernstein.com) and Amy Bandow (bandowa@cooley.edu).

Mentoring Committee
Committee members are asked to mentor a student from Stetson University College of Law or WMU Cooley Law School and to help plan and/or attend social functions between the mentors and students.

Chairs: Christine Derr (cderr@derrlawfirm.com); Deb Larned Werner (deb.werner@aol.com); and Elena Krekovic (Elena.krekovic@gmail.com).

Newsletter Committee
Committee members will collaborate, gather and submit timely news articles, practice tips, event photographs, and other information of interest to HAWL membership for dissemination in on-line/e-mail periodic news publications. This committee will regularly collaborate with HAWL’s Public Relations/Website Committee.

Chair: Lexie Larkin (lexie@tampafamilylegal.com).

Pro Bono Committee
Committee members meet periodically to help develop, assist with, and implement pro bono opportunities for HAWL members.

Chairs: Paige Greenlee (paige@greenleelawtampa.com); and Elizabeth Hapner (elh@HapnerLawFL.com).

Public Relations/Website Committee
Committee members will assist the committee chair in ensuring the HAWL website and social media sites maintain current and relevant information and content. Committee members will be asked to attend HAWL events to take pictures for posting on HAWL’s website and social media sites. This committee will regularly collaborate with HAWL’s Newsletter Committee.

Chairs: Mandi Clay (mandi.clay228@gmail.com); and Jessica Ronay (Jessica_ronay@flmd.uscourts.gov).

Scholarship Committee
Committee members meet in Spring 2017 to review scholarship applications and help select student winners for the annual scholarships sponsored by HAWL.

Chairs: John Schifino (jschifino@burr.com); and Kristen Chittenden (kchittenden@gulfmarinerepair.com).

Solo & Small Firm Practitioners Committee
Committee members will help organize and participate in networking, professional development, and continuing education events for solo practitioners or attorneys who practice in small law firm settings.

Chairs: Kamilah Perry (kperry@perrylawfla.com) and Shaina Thorpe (Shaina@thorpelawyers.com).

Young Lawyers Committee
Committee members help organize and participate in networking, professional development, and continuing education events for attorneys age 36 and younger or who have been in practice five years or fewer. This committee will regularly collaborate with HAWL’s Newsletter and Public Relations/Website Committees.

Chairs: Kelli Ragan (kragan@bushross.com) and Lexie Larkin (lexie@tampafamilylegal.com).