Committee Opportunities

HAWL Committee Opportunities

2017-2018 Program Year

HAWL invites its members to join committees and prides itself in making participation easy and enjoyable! Committee participation is voluntary and each committee allows you to volunteer for specific events that fit within your time schedule. For additional information, or to sign-up for a committee(s), please contact the chairperson(s) listed below.

Awards Committee
Committee members may meet periodically and will be asked to help prepare applications and proposals for awards and grants for HAWL and its members.

Chairs: Katherine Earle Yanes (kyanes@kmf-law.com) and Christine Derr (cderr@derrlawfirm.com)

By Laws Committee

Committee members review the bylaws and recommend updates and changes to the Board of Directors.

Chairs: Jane Rose (rosej@hillsboroughcounty.org) and Victoria Ferrentino (vferrentino@bgrplaw.com)

Community Outreach Committee
Committee members assist in organizing and participating in HAWL’s community outreach programs or charitable events. Committee members meet periodically as a committee and volunteer for the events sponsored by the committee.

Chairs: Rachael Simpson (simpsorm@fljud13.org) and Sumayya Saleh (salehs@pd13.state.fl.us)

Diversity Committee
Committee members will assist in organizing and participating in various projects related to gender, racial, and ethnic equality, that are coordinated with the Hillsborough County Bar Association and minority bar associations. Committee members may meet on occasion as a committee and will be asked to volunteer at one of the sponsored events.

Chairs: Ashley Grant (Ashley.grant@myfloridalegal.com) and Paige Greenlee (paige@greenleelawtampa.com)

Government Attorneys Committee
Committee members will help organize and participate in networking, professional development, and continuing education events for government attorneys. Committee members may meet periodically as a committee and volunteer for the events sponsored by the committee.

Chairs: Katelyn Wright (kbw9988@gmail.com) and Anne McDonough (annefmcdonough@gmail.com)

Judicial Relations Committee
Committee members will meet periodically to organize events, including the annual judicial reception, for the purpose of appreciating and promoting collegial relations with members of the judiciary. Additionally, committee members will participate in honoring the accomplishments of current judges and recognizing newly appointed judges.

Chairs: Lexie Larkin (lexie@tampafamilylegal.com); Michelle Drab (mdrab@bushross.com); John Schifino (jschifino@burr.com); and Kim Hamill (khamill@olalaw.com)

Membership Committee
Committee members may help plan or volunteer at membership recruitment and appreciation events, welcome new members, and assist the Vice President of Membership and Membership Chair as needed.

Chairs: Cindy Oster (osterc@hillsboroughcounty.org); Suzanna Johnson (suzanna@smjlawoffice.com) and Ciara Willis (cwillis@deanmead.com)

Mentoring Committee
Committee members are asked to mentor a student from Stetson University College of Law or WMU Cooley Law School and to help plan and/or attend social functions between the mentors and students.

Chairs: Rachael Bushey (reb@markjobrien.com); Dineen Wasylik (dineen@ip-appeals.com); Melanie Griffin (mgriffin@deanmead.com); and Alex Palermo (apalermo@burr.com)

Newsletter Committee
Committee members will collaborate, gather and submit timely news articles, practice tips, event photographs, and other information of interest to HAWL membership for dissemination in on-line/e-mail periodic news publications. This committee will regularly collaborate with HAWL’s Public Relations/Website Committee.

Chair: Jessica Costello (j.goodwin.costello@gmail.com) and Jane Rose (rosej@hillsboroughcounty.org)

 

Public Relations and Website Committee
Committee members will assist the committee chair in ensuring the HAWL website and social media sites maintain current and relevant information and content. Committee members will be asked to attend HAWL events to take pictures for posting on HAWL’s website and social media sites. This committee will regularly collaborate with HAWL’s Newsletter Committee.

Chairs: Mandi Clay (mandi.clay228@gmail.com); and Leslie Sammis (lsammis@sammislawfirm.com)

Scholarship Committee
Committee members meet in Spring 2017 to review scholarship applications and help select student winners for the annual scholarships sponsored by HAWL.

Chairs: Jacqueline Simms-Petredis (jsimms-petredis@burr.com) and Kristen Chittenden (kchittenden@hendrymarine.com)

Solo & Small Firm Practitioners Committee
Committee members will help organize and participate in networking, professional development, and continuing education events for solo practitioners or attorneys who practice in small law firm settings.

Chairs: Shaina Thorpe (Shaina@thorpelawyers.com) and Latisha Scott (lscott@lordscottlaw.com)